Loading Events

« BACK TO Events

A Launch Party for Landra Jennings

September 15 @ 5:30 pm - 7:00 pm

Join us at the Launch Party for Landra Jenning’s debut: The Whispering Fog!

In this spooky and atmospheric debut contemporary fantasy (Middle Grade), Snow White and Rose Red meets the modern world after sisters Neve and Rose’s lives are upended when a swamp witch kidnaps Rose. This is perfect for fans of Jodi Lynn Anderson and Katherine Arden!

For twelve-year-old Neve, it’s always been she and her older sister against the world, their lives entwined just like sisters in a fairy tale. So, if Rose loves tennis, Neve will play it too—even if secretly she’d rather be home turning cardboard boxes into offbeat art projects. Not even being moved to the piney woods outside Etters, South Carolina, can change what they are to each other—until a mysterious fog seems to swallow up Rose before Neve’s eyes.

Naturally, the adults don’t believe that something supernatural is at play. So, with the help of Piper, a classmate with a tomato fixation; Sammy, a boy with memories of an otherworldly stranger; and a stray dog that seems to belong to the woods, Neve discovers that her sister has been taken by a swamp-dwelling witch with a terribly wicked plan. It will be up to Neve to save her sister. Otherwise, she’ll be separated from Rose . . . forever

A gorgeous, haunting debut about sisterhood and finding your voice.

Reviews:

‘With a dose of creepiness and a dash of delight, Landra Jennings brews a bewitching tale of sisterly love, finding your voice, and the value of a good tomato. I love this book.’   — Anne Ursu, author of The Troubled Girls of Dragomir Academy

The Whispering Fog is a dark and twisty retelling of Snow White and Rose Red, with a delicious page-turner of an ending. But underneath the magic, it’s a refreshingly honest story about imperfect families, about how sometimes we care best for others by being real with ourselves. I loved it.’ — Laurel Snyder, author of Orphan Island and My Jasper June

This is a FREE EVENT, perfect family event, fun for all ages!

Details

Date:
September 15
Time:
5:30 pm - 7:00 pm
Event Categories:
,

Venue

M. Judson Booksellers
130 S. Main St.
Greenville, 29601 United States
Phone:
864-603-2412