Loading Events

« BACK TO Events

Books Over Drinks with Carolyn Prusa

January 24, 2023 @ 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm

$35.00

We are so excited to spend an evening with Carolyn Prusa talking about what may be our favorite book title ever: None of This Would Have Happened If Prince Were Alive. Perfect for fans of Maria Semple and Jennifer Weiner, this smart and witty debut novel follows Ramona through the forty-eight hours after her life has been upended by the discovery of her husband’s affair and an approaching Category Four hurricane. Don’t miss this chance to meet this new author, hear more about her debut, and enjoy a book-inspired cocktail!

This is a ticketed event. Your ticket includes admission, a cocktail, and a copy of the book.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Carolyn Prusa has written for Savannah MagazineThe Charlotte Observer, and other publications. She lives in Savannah with her husband, two sons, and giant rescue dog, Dale, who looks like a Wookie and sings like an angel. Find out more on Twitter @CarolynPrusa.

BOOK SUMMARY

Ramona’s got a bratty boss, a toddler teetering through toilet training, a critical mom who doesn’t mind sharing, and oops—a cheating husband. That’s how a Category Four hurricane bearing down on her life in Savannah becomes just another item on her to-do list. In the next forty-eight hours she’ll add a neighborhood child and the class guinea pig named Clarence Thomas to her entourage as she struggles to evacuate town.

Ignoring the persistent glow of her minivan’s check engine light, Ramona navigates police check points, bathroom emergencies, demands from her boss, and torrential downpours while fielding calls and apology texts from her cheating husband and longing for the days when her life was like a Prince song, full of sexy creativity and joy.

Thoroughly entertaining and completely relatable, None of This Would Have Happened if Prince Were Alive is the hilarious, heartwarming story of a woman up to her elbows in calamities and about to drive off the brink of the rest of her life.

REVIEWS

“Engaging debut…there’s a lot to enjoy in this thoughtful outing.”  –Publishers Weekly

“A story that explores how individual identity and happiness can be unintentionally misplaced in marriage and motherhood.”  —Kirkus Reviews

“It’s not often you read a book that makes you laugh and makes your heart pound with excitement but Carolyn Prusa’s debut does just that. Her heroine Ramona uses humor and her love for pop star Prince to navigate dueling crises in her life and takes a surprisingly poignant journey along the way.”  —Laurie Gelman, author of Smells Like Tween Spirit and Class Mom

“Both insightful and messy in the most relatable way, None of This Would Have Happened If Prince Were Alive will have you cackling, nodding in agreement, and rooting hard for Ramona as she battles various storms — literal and figurative.”  —Laura Hankin, author of A Special Place for Women and Happy and You Know It

“A keenly observant, fast-paced comedy that illustrates just how tough it can be – as Prince would say – ‘to get through this thing called life.’ Finding humor in heartbreak, Prusa presents a strong-willed heroine who copes with one indignity after another, from the acutely embarrassing to the brutally life-changing, all while dodging in and out of the path of an oncoming hurricane.”  —Amy Poeppel, author of Musical Chairs

“Fans of Amy Poehler and Maria Semple, rejoice! Carolyn Prusa has written an absolute hit. Wry, charming, and all too real, this is a laugh-out-loud gem of a novel.” —Beck Dorey-Stein, New York Times bestselling author of From the Corner of the Oval

“This energetic, uproariously funny portrait of motherhood will appeal to fans of Laurie Gelman and Maria Semple.” —Booklist, starred review

Details

Date:
January 24, 2023
Time:
7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Cost:
$35.00
Event Category:

Venue

M. Judson Booksellers
130 S. Main St.
Greenville, 29601 United States
Phone:
864-603-2412

Tickets

The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
Books Over Drinks - Carolyn Prusa
$ 35.00
70 available