Loading Events

« BACK TO Events

Books Over Drinks with Patti Callahan Henry

May 4 @ 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm

$35.00

We are so excited to spend an evening with Patti Callahan Henry and her new novel, The Secret Book of Flora Lea! This story follows the lives of two sisters, Hazel and Flora, after they are evacuated from London as part of Operation Pied Piper during World War II. When Flora suddenly goes missing in the English countryside, she’s presumed drowned— until 20 years later, when  a children’s book arrives to the London bookshop where Hazel works, based on the secret fairy tale only the sisters shared.

Hear more about the story and Patti’s writing process over book-inspired book-inspired cocktails with her. This is a ticketed event.

Your ticket includes admission, a cocktail, and a copy of the book.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Patti Callahan Henry is the New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of several novels, including Surviving Savannah and Becoming Mrs. Lewis. She is the recipient of the Christy Award, the Harper Lee Award for Alabama’s Distinguished Writer of the Year Award, and the Alabama Library Association Book of the Year. She is the cohost and cocreator of the popular weekly online live web show and podcast Friends and Fiction. A full-time author and mother of three, she lives in Alabama and South Carolina with her family. Find out more at PattiCallahanHenry.com.

BOOK SUMMARY 

When a woman stumbles across a mysterious children’s book, long-held secrets about her missing sister and their childhood spent in the English countryside during World War II are revealed in this “transporting, heartfelt, and atmospheric” (Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author) novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Surviving Savannah and Becoming Mrs. Lewis.

1939: Fourteen-year-old Hazel and five-year-old Flora evacuate their London home for a rural village to escape the horrors of the Second World War. Living with the Aberdeen family in a charming stone cottage, Hazel distracts her young sister with a fairy tale about a magical land, a secret place they can escape to that is all their own: Whisperwood.

But the unthinkable happens when Flora suddenly vanishes after playing near the banks of the River Thames. Shattered, Hazel blames herself for her sister’s disappearance, carrying the guilt into adulthood.

Twenty years later, Hazel is back in London, ready to move on from her job at a cozy rare bookstore for a career at Sotheby’s. With a cherished boyfriend and an upcoming Paris getaway, Hazel’s future seems set. But her tidy life is turned upside down when she unwraps a package containing a picture book called Whisperwood and the River of Stars. Hazel never told a soul about the storybook world she created just for Flora. Could this book hold the secrets to Flora’s disappearance? Could it be a sign that her beloved sister is still alive after all these years? Or is something sinister at play?

For fans of Kate Morton, Janet Skeslien Charles, and Kristin Hannah, this is a “fantastical” (Jamie Ford, New York Times bestselling author) celebration of sisterhood and the magic of storytelling wrapped up in a “heartrending, captivating tale of family, first love, and fate” (Kristin Harmel, New York Times bestselling author).

BOOK REVIEWS

“A world war and a fairy tale collide in the British countryside in 1940–and Patti Callahan Henry is the perfect novelist to explore how the living are forever changed. The Secret Book of Flora Lea is a treasure: moving, surprising, and deeply evocative of an England that everyday walked the tightrope between heartbreak and hope. –Chris Bohjalian, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Lioness and The Flight Attendant

“Deft, lyrical and supremely satisfying, The Secret Book of Flora Lea isn’t so much a departure for Patti Callahan Henry as it is a culmination of her gifts as a novelist. This is a book about difficult history and unsinkable hope, ordinary magic in the form of love, and about how our stories can save and sustain us in the most trying moments of our lives. Callahan’s plot will keep you guessing even as her characters steal your heart. I loved it.” –Paula McLain, author of The Paris Wife and When the Stars Go Dark

“A spellbinding tale of hope and perseverance, The Secret Book of Flora Lea is as enchanting and whimsical as the Whisperwood fairytale hidden within its pages. It reminds us that a happily-ever-after isn’t out of reach—so long as we heed the tiny voice within, whispering that the real magic of the story may be closer than we think.” —Sarah Penner, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Apothecary and The London Seance Society

“Two sisters, dual time periods, a magical secret place, an abiding mystery–The Secret Book of Flora Lea is an enchanting story of survival against all odds. With her trademark warmth and a feather-light touch, Patti Callahan Henry weaves together events both real and imagined. Transporting, heartfelt, and atmospheric.” –Christina Baker Kline, New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train and The Exiles

The Secret Book of Flora Lea is a beguiling blend of hope, mystery, and true familial love. It exposes the deep wounds of a family tragically separated because of war. Told in an utterly fresh way with dual timelines and a host of unforgettable characters, this is a story that is both necessary and satisfying through the last page. Powerful and spellbinding!” –Sadeqa Johnson, Internationally bestselling author of The House of Eve and The Yellow Wife


Can’t Make this event?

Details

Date:
May 4
Time:
7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Cost:
$35.00
Event Category:

Venue

M. Judson Booksellers
130 S. Main St.
Greenville, 29601 United States
Phone:
864-603-2412

Tickets

The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
BOD Patti Callahan Henry
$ 35.00
66 available